Medical Advisory Board
Share this page

About Us

The PBC Foundation is the only UK organisation exclusively dedicated to providing support and information to those affected by PBC

Medical Advisory Board

Medical Advisory Board

  • Professor James Neuberger MD FRCP (Chairman)

    Dr Andrew Bathgate MD FRCP

    Professor Ulrich H W Beuers, MD

    Dr Marco Carbone MD, PhD

    Dr Jane Collier

    Dr Niall Finlayson MBChB FRCP PhD OBE (Honorary Member)

    Robert G Gish MD FAASLD FACP

    Dr Dermot Gleeson MD BSc FRCP, (Honorary Member)

    Dr Vinod Hegade PhD, MRCP (Gastro), MRCP(UK), MBBS

    Professor Michael A Heneghan, MD, MMedSc, FRCPI

    Dr Gideon M Hirschfield MA MB BChir FRCP PhD

    Professor David Jones BM BA BCh MRCP PhD

    Dr Rebecca L Jones BA MBBS PhD FRCP

    Dr Cynthia Levy MD, AGAF, FAASLD

    Dr Keith Lindor, MD, FAASLD 

    Dr Alastair MacGilchrist MD FRCP, (Honorary Member)

    Dr George Mells MRCP

    Dr Martin I Prince BM BSHons BMedSci Msc PhD MRCP

    Dr Mark Swain MD, MSc, FRCPC, FAASLD, FCAHS


    Professor Atushi Tanaka MD

    Dr Douglas Thorburn MB ChB MD FRCP

    Professor Michael Trauner MD  

    Dr John Vierling MD

    Professor Martin Weltman MBBCh FRACP PhD

    Dr Andrew Yeoman MB BCh, MD

One of the main aims of the Foundation is to support its members with information and advice. Medical Advice is provided by members of  the Medical Advisory Committee which consists of leading hepatologists from the UK and around the world.

While we will try to answer questions as fully as possible, please note that we can give advice only to those who are members of the PBC Foundation (membership is free).  Furthermore, we are unable to give advice on specific personal medical matters: these should be addressed by the person’s clinician.